Product Review…Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Hair & Scalp Treatment

For all your beauty advice…

I’ve always been a fan of hair masks, and scalp treatments. Sometimes I make them at home with ingredients I have in my kitchen, and sometimes I buy them. I have been reading about the Tea Tree line of hair care from Paul Mitchell and I got my hands on their scalp treatment recently, and I wanted to write about it.

The smell was the first thing I noticed about it. It smells amazing with a blend of Tea Tree, Lavender, and Peppermint oils. I was coming off a head cold when I tried it, and it opened my sinuses up all the way. Nice side benefit! Most scalp treatments come in pure oil form, which can make them messy. This is creamy, like a conditioner, which gives you some control in applying the product to your hair and scalp. Tiny exfoliating beads feel great on your scalp, and are easy to rinse away.

In order to get all the benefits of a scalp treatment, you want to keep it on as long as the directions suggest. When I tried it, I was in the shower already, and didn’t have the patience to stand there and massage it into my scalp for 5 minutes. I think I did it for about 2 minutes, but it still felt great. Next time I try it, I will make sure to apply it a few minutes before I get in the shower so I can get the full 5 minute treatment.

The only thing I didn’t really like about this product is, the directions are vague. It simply says to apply to hair and scalp and massage for 3-5 minutes. It doesn’t say if you should apply to wet hair, dry hair, etc. I know what steps to take with a scalp treatment, from doing hair for so many years. But, I know some people may buy the product, get it home, and then truly wonder how they use it. Has that happened to you?

The best way to use this product is to gently brush your hair to detangle, then apply the product to dry hair/scalp, then massage for a few minutes. Get in a steamy shower, and let the steam open up the pores and the product will soak in deeper. Rinse out, and shampoo and condition as you normally do.

This is a great treatment for men and women. It doesn’t smell fruity, flowery, or “girly” in any way. It smells very spa-like, and makes your hair and scalp feel great. Have you tried it? Have you tried any of the new Tea Tree products from Paul Mitchell? Tell me what you think!

Email me your questions for Q&A Monday to brookeknowsbeauty@hotmail.com

You’ve Been Beautified!

11 Responses to “Product Review…Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Hair & Scalp Treatment”

  1. Laura M Says:

    Thanks for your write-up on this product. My stylist recommended it, but I was not sure whether to use on wet or dry hair (not having used a scalp treatment before), and not sure if you are supposed to shampoo after using it. Have only used it once, loved the tingly feeling. Am hoping it will help to reduce the flakiness of my scalp. Again, thanks for your write-up!

  2. Pam Says:

    Thank you! I got into the bathroom ready to use the product and thought.. what the heck? yours was the first result I found in a search to figure out how to use it. I too am hoping this will clear up a scalp issue I can’t seem to shake. You’re a lifesaver

  3. Dawn Bischoff Probst Says:

    LOL Thank you so much for the “Use” information….I love Tea Tree products Ive used others before and they truly work…Im surprised they really don’t have clear instructions on how to use…But thanks to you we now do lol…Thanks!! :-)

  4. mommycoleman Says:

    Finally I can use the product! I bought it yesterday and the directions also had me guessing on what would be the best way to use. I bought this along with the tea tree shampoo and conditioner. My hair stylist suggested it since my scalp has been so dry this winter. Thank you! Can’t wait to try it!

  5. Mary Says:

    Used the hair and scalp treatment today but directions said to only rinse it thoroughly afterwards. Then I dried my hair. Am I now supposed to go back in shower and shampoo and condition hair? Scalp feels good but still itches somewhat.

    • brookeknowsbeauty Says:

      Hi Mary! I have always used shampoo and conditioner after a scalp treatment. I use the treatment on dry hair, and then after I rinse that out, I follow with shampoo and conditioner. Hope that helps!

  6. Alex Miranda Says:

    Will this treatment work with any shampoo and conditioner or should I buy the entire line of tea tree oil ?

    • brookeknowsbeauty Says:

      I’ve used it with both the tea tree line, and non-tea tree lines. I think it makes sense to use the coordinating products, but you certainly don’t have to. You’ll still get the benefits from the product if you use a different shampoo and conditioner. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

