Old School Beauty

For all your beauty advice…

While digging through some old books recently, I came across a book titled “Standard Textbook Of Cosmetology”. It belonged to my grandmother, who was a cosmetologist, and in whose footsteps I have followed. My grandmother was a beauty and she had a beauty shop. Some of my first memories are of playing salon with my sisters in her shop.

This Standard Textbook Of Cosmetology is old…very old. How old? Well, the copyright is 1938, so that tells you how long ago it was that she went to school to learn the art of Cosmetology. I have been devouring this book and I am highly amused at some of the tips and techniques they were teaching then. I am all for a good home remedy, but one “recipe” for a shampoo shocked the heck out of me!

This book talks about dry shampoo, it talks about hot oil shampoo, it talks about egg shampoo (seriously) but the one that really caught my eye was the gasoline shampoo. I am not kidding you. The book says that a gasoline shampoo is a good alternative to a person whose health will not permit her to have a wet shampoo. It says to slowly pour a cupful of gasoline over the hair, being sure not to rub, brush, or use a lathering motion (you think?!?!). You are supposed to lift the hair carefully in sections as you pour, so the liquid will cover all parts of the head. Squeeze out the excess moisture (fuel) from the hair then pat gently with a towel to dry. “Fanning will assist in drying. do NOT use an electric dryer.” It also goes on to caution the cosmetologist with this: “Great precaution must be taken when using inflammable liquids on the hair. The room should be well ventilated and there should be no fires burning.” Just a quick tip…any time a product, or a procedure has this disclaimer…run fast and far!

WOW! And I thought the perm machine was scary! I guess you can look at it as resourceful because clearly the gasoline will eat away any oil and bacteria that may be on the hair and the scalp. I am very thankful this practice was not something used when I went to school for cosmetology. I’ve heard of some crazy things in the name of beauty/hygiene, but this one takes the cake! With the way gas prices constantly rise, I would suggest you just stick with your normal shampoo, or use a dry shampoo if something is hindering you from being able to get in the shower. (May I suggest Batiste?) 

I think I have stumbled across quite a gem with this Standard Textbook Of Cosmetology! I’ll be sure to share more craziness as I find more. And, just in case anyone is interested, I’ll post the recipe for the egg shampoo soon. Doesn’t sound as harsh as the gasoline shampoo, but it does sound kind of gross.

Ok, anyone out there who has heard of this practice? If so, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

Email me your questions for Q&A Monday to brookeknowsbeauty@hotmail.com

You’ve Been Beautified!

5 thoughts on “Old School Beauty

  1. Margie Knodel

    Brooke, this practice could have begun, and or be related to a cure for head lice. As I understand it, that was quite a problem sometimes, as there was no running water, much less hot water, and therefore our style of shampooing was a true luxury. Wonder how many disasters this resulted in! So much for longing for the “good ole days”! Mommo’s book is truly a treasure. So happy you have it. Love, Auntie M

  2. Thank you Auntie M!! I have had a few responses telling me that this may have been a cure for lice. It’s been really great reading through this book and sharing the information! It’s also really great to see the autographs from fellow students, using the book as a year book to keep in touch. I am so happy I found it!

  3. Margie Knodel

    Brooke, Replies at 2:30 AM! Get some rest, girl! You need more rest during really stressful times….How do I rest, when I can’t sleep??? Crazy, huh. Anyway I am thinking of you guys, and sending positive energy your way!

    Famous last words for now, “This too, shall pass.” Love you, Auntie M

Leave a comment